top of page

New Zealand


The Skilled Migrant Category Policy becomes effective from the 17 December 2003.  

New Zealand wants to grant residence to people who have skills, experience and relevant job offers to fill employment opportunities that they have identified which are necessary for their growth as a nation. New Zealand also wants the people they invite into New Zealand to settle here, feeling they are welcomed and are able to make a positive contribution.  


The 'Skilled Migrant' immigration category ensures that both New Zealand and new migrants can experience positive social, cultural and economic outcomes of living and working together.  

The Prerequisites  
To apply, applicants need to register for "Expressions of Interest" (EOI) with the Immigration New Zealand (NZIS), they need to be of good health, good character, have a reasonable standard of English, not older than 55 years of age and threshold of 100 points.  

Points System  
The idea of the point system is to allow Expressions of Interest to be ranked and to enable the NZIS to extend invitations to those who have the maximum to offer New Zealand for residence application.


An allocation of points is awarded for skilled employment in New Zealand, work experience, qualifications and age. The availability of Bonus Points are for employment, work experience and qualifications in identified areas of growth or absolute skill shortage or within identified clusters. Bonus points are also awarded to employment outside Auckland and can also be gained for New Zealand qualifications gained over for at least 2 years. Applicants can also qualify to gain bonus points for their spouse/partner's employment and qualifications.  

bottom of page